when the stigma works for you

The marines want me to play trombone for them, which is quite flattering.

But I don’t want to do Paris Island boot camp and training and not really having a home anymore and leaving my lover and my three babies Buddy, Bushka, and Bear.

So I work the stigma to stop the recruitment officer.

“I’m bipolar, and the USMC is poisoned by stigma.”

done and done, one line zinger that instantly makes me undesirable!

I’m so sassy and bipolar and really quite stable these days.

But if you feel the stigma and you don’t want to be in that organization, FLAUNT YOUR ILLNESS.

bend and snap, ladies.

bend

and

snap

6 comments

  1. kbailey374 · March 20, 2015

    haha you are a sketch – good one!

    Like

  2. blahpolar · March 21, 2015

    I love the fact that you said they’re poisoned by stigma. Don’t ask don’t tell might have been revoked for sexuality, but the mental illness bs goes on.

    Like

    • MarthasMakeup · March 21, 2015

      Exactly. My response was a lot longer (the interaction was via email) but I did say that part verbatim. I also said that they would not “get to” hear my audition anytime soon. I proceeded to list my experience (not gonna lie, it’s impressive, not to toot my own horn LOL but I was nominated for a Grammy when I was 20 and I have toured internationally) and basically say what USMC is missing out on due to the stigma. I just took it as an opportunity to speak up for all of us, I was feelin’ sassy. Martha: accomplished trombonist slash cowgirl slash bipolar activist

      Liked by 2 people

      • blahpolar · March 21, 2015

        You have every right to be sassy – very cool labels 😉

        Like

  3. lilypup · March 21, 2015

    I love it. They’re only 50 years behind life. http://lilypupslife.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Melissa · March 29, 2015

    Hi! I’ve nominated for the Creative Blogger Award here: https://bettysknees.wordpress.com/2015/03/29/the-creative-blogger-award/

    Like

Leave a Reply

