Wax Funtimes + New Great Cheap Moisturizer!

Despite the horrible weather on the east coast, I made it to my long overdue brow and lip wax. I was three weeks behind due to a migraine, my surgery, and then painkillers. Yesterday’s post is a before and here is my after. 🙂





(the second one is filtered because I was in horrible lighting)

(the first one is pink because it was literally a minute after getting waxed)

But ladies, how about that mascara?! This one is from the drugstore and is really impressing me. It is Maybelline Full and Soft. On me it feels very light and fluttery but it separates and lengthens gorgeously. I didn’t even curl my lashes today and I still got a very flirty, lifted look. I haven’t had any smudging with this one, but for some reason mascaras don’t ever smudge on me (knock on wood).

On to the moisturizer —



I got mine for about $12 at Ulta. I am not a huge fan of the scent (or any scent in any moisturizer) BUT…

it is knocking my beloved Cerave out of the park right now. My skin has been so extremely dry and flaky lately that it has needed something thicker. This derma e moisturizer is heavy (which I love), 75% of it sinks right in and the other 25% remains a little dewy (not shiny or oily) and makeup goes on fine over it. I’m sure it would all sink in if one applied less, but I really need a barrier between my poor skin and my apartment’s heating system.

It doesn’t have SPF, but I’ve read that it mixes well with other products. I will try mixing my Cerave with SPF in with it. Today for my wax, I went with just this moisturizer and a floppy hat for sun protection.



(me being a total selfie goober in my new hat and marc jacobs lippie)

I hope you have a wonderful snow/ice day if you’re with me on the east coast! Drive safe. 🙂 And treat yourself to a long bath and a sheet mask for a pampered evening.

10 comments

  1. kbailey374 · March 5, 2015

    my skin is the color of your lipstick after I wax, can’t be seen in public til the next day!!

    Like

    • MarthasMakeup · March 5, 2015

      I feel you! I think the derma e honestly helped a lot because usually I get a lot pinker. I also used a new powder foundation afterward that has really good coverage (it’s by smashbox and it is pretty pricey but it really did a good job on me today!).

      Like

  2. Alexis Ruiz · March 5, 2015

    Oooo I never get my eyebrows waxed anymore, only threaded. It doesn’t give me that redness and doesn’t cause me acne. I also really love Maybelline mascara they are amazing. And that Marc Jacobs lippies is gorgeous. Selfie goobers ftw ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    • MarthasMakeup · March 5, 2015

      I’ve never tried threading! I’m currently fine with waxing and I haven’t had acne from it but maybe I’ll give it a go one day 🙂 the lippie was a point perk from sephora, the shade is “kiss kiss bang bang” 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Alexis Ruiz · March 5, 2015

        Thanks Martha! I will have to check that lippie out. Yeah some people don’t have that problem, but I do.

        Like

  3. Melissa · March 5, 2015

    I’ve been looking for a new moisturizer because my face is always so obnoxiously flakey. I’ll have to check that one out, I love heavy moisturizers too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • MarthasMakeup · March 5, 2015

      I’ve only used it for two days so I can’t vouch long term but my heat is going full blast (it’s icing and snowing) and my face still feels nice and plush and dewy! It is on sale at Ulta right now so it’s worth a go! My psychiatrist told me I haaaad to try it (and she is the type to use La Mer and spend that type of money on skincare) haha. But it really feels luxurious. The only thing I don’t like is the smell but it doesn’t make my eyes water at all (my eyes usually react to scent).

      Liked by 1 person

  4. blahpolar · March 6, 2015

    Omg you look so different without the beard!

    Like

  5. ShopGirlXOX · March 6, 2015

    I have nominated you and your amazing blog for the Liebster Award 🙂 check out my post for how to accept the award. https://shopgirl1986.wordpress.com/2015/03/06/the-liebster-award/

    Like

  6. stashmatters · March 16, 2015

    Hello! I tagged you to do the Confessions of a Beauty Blogger Tag:
    https://stashmatters.wordpress.com/2015/03/15/confessions-of-a-beauty-blogger-tag/
    Please do this tag if you have time, I’d love to read your answers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

