smoke gets in your eyeballs (tight lining)

I decided to break out of my shell and give tight lining a go yesterday, and to debut it out and about today. I don’t usually do something so smokey since I wear dark frames, but I think it looked fine.

For this look I played with Naked 3 palette, some matte shades by tarte and Sonia Kashuk, and black liner to tightline by NYX. I threw a thin liquid liner by Physician’s Formula to bring the smoked out shadow together. My mascaras were Urban Decay Perversion on the top and Clinique bottom lash on the bottom.

For the rest of the face, I’m wearing Revlon Colorstay Whipped, NARS laguna bronzer, and Milani Luminoso blush. Also brows: Dipbrow by Anastasia Beverly Hills. And my lips are Rimmel east end snob with some Buxom White Russian over the top.

IMG_3293

IMG_3289

I had fun with today’s look. Something different for me when I’ve been in a slump lately. I’ll definitely be tightlining more often, it’s a great effect!

Tomorrow I’ll probably be fresh faced all day because there’s supposed to be a little blizzard overnight. I hope I get to spend the day with my lover and pets watching Green Acres (current obsession– just realized it’s on Hulu and I LOVED it as a kid).

Stay warm! Veg out in your warm houses and look out your windows at the bitter cold! Try daring new lipsticks inside! ๐Ÿ™‚ Take care.

13 comments

  1. blahpolar · February 26, 2015

    Try daring new lipsticks.

    No.

    Like

    • MarthasMakeup · February 26, 2015

      you should look up “how to tightline (eyeliner)” and see what horror I put myself through, it would amuse you

      it involves putting black kohl in between the upper lashline and the eyeball

      I’m not kidding

      this is what I do for fun

      because I’m a masochist

      Liked by 1 person

      • blahpolar · February 26, 2015

        Omfg

        “If you’ve waterlined, you can tightline–but read this first so you don’t blind yourself .”

        And

        “Itโ€™s a really subtle doe-eyed effect, perfect when youโ€™re sleeping over at a certain someone you admireโ€™s house for the first time and donโ€™t want to wake up sans all makeup.”

        Martha the Martyr, never mind masochist xD

        And then, because Egyptians were fanatic (but not sexist) about their make up, I googled ‘how did ancient egyptians use kohl’ and found this really fascinating – it’s probably stuff you know already.

        http://www.touregypt.net/egypt-info/magazine-mag09012000-mag4.htm

        I demand a return to ancient Egyptian cosmetics and attitudes towards cosmetics! Except for the part where I’d have to wear some! Although I might enjoy guyliner if my eyelids were less sensitive!

        Ahem.

        Like

  2. puddlesofinkk · February 26, 2015

    I’ve always tight lined since I started wearing make up – I love it! I find it can be made more wearable and subtle on days with no eye shadow and a bit of mascara ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. puddlesofinkk · February 26, 2015

    Btw you look really pretty – this look suits you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. melissaclaireleslie · February 26, 2015

    This looks lovely on you. I always waterline but if I want extra smoke factor tightlining is the way forward. Cool post xx

    Like

  5. Dora · February 26, 2015

    Hey ๐Ÿ™‚

    That’s such a beautiful look, though. Love the tight lining. (it was probably agony…)

    xx

    Like

    • MarthasMakeup · February 27, 2015

      Yes haha I’m blind so my pencil kept on bumping into the mirror and pressing into my eye and ughhh but I think it was somehow worth the struggle. Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Bree · February 26, 2015

    Love the tight line effect on you!

    Like

  7. avibrantday · February 27, 2015

    Thanks for the sound weekend advice! (I’m currently trying out a bold new lip color… indoors in my PJs, LOL). Your makeup look looks great! It’s a pulled-together look that would work for everyday wear. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

