first day of twerk and beauty hack

scrub selfie coming tomorrow, don’t worry (I got my XS navy blue scrubs today). 🙂

I woke up at 5:15, managed to shower, moisturize, get dressed, feed myself (omg shocker! green juice + half serving of greek yogurt mixed in), and have two cups of tea before I left at 6:30. Of course I put on a touch of makeup… 🙂 just BB cream, powder, blush/bronzer/highlight, brows, mascara, and a neutral lip+gloss. And the lover isn’t waiting on the bathroom at that ungodly hour so it’s all mine.

Everything was wonderful! My job is mostly making sure animals are happy, fed, and pooped. I also have to make sure everything is very clean and that anything smelly is outside in the trash (or if it is living, in the tub). And there is a ton of laundry to keep up with, and lots of dishes and litter pans to wash. So it is busy but very manageable.

Right now I’ll be training at 7am every weekday for about 3 weeks. I’m already loving the new productive feeling. I’m out before noon so I still have plenty of time for my music, my writing, my own animals and friends, my doctors appointments, and whatever else I do with my life.

Highlight of the day: bathing two cats, hahaha. They really didn’t seem to hate it quite as much as I anticipated. Of course they would’ve rather been napping on their towels but alas, I was just following orders.

I also cleaned up chihuahua diarrhea, but I will be doing a lot of that! I’m glad the Great Dane across the hall didn’t have a similar accident!! Can’t wait to walk him. 🙂

So it was a grand day! I can’t wait to go back tomorrow. My dog loved sniffing all of my new smells when I got home today.

~~~and now for the beauty hack~~~

2015/02/img_3177.jpg

2015/02/img_3178.jpg

2015/02/img_3176.jpg

(this is not the color I wore to work)

Use nipple cream as a safe and hydrating and very glossy alternative to gloss! I used it on top of a Wet n Wild lipstick that tends to be quite drying. It didn’t move the color around at all, but it made it super shiny (which I was going for). I might switch my pocket standby (aquaphor)!

I know it’s not the most glam beauty tip of all time but I love it!

xoxo,

Martha

4 comments

  1. Bemused · February 9, 2015

    Working with animals is never mundane 🙂

    Love the lip color!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bree · February 10, 2015

    Hahaha I have that same lanolin cream left over from when I was nursing! I’ll have to try this so it doesn’t go to waste 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ksdays100 · February 10, 2015

    Congrats on the new job! Sounds like you are happy there 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Melissa · February 10, 2015

    Huh, I never thought about using lanolin on the lips! Also, I’m super impressed at how productive you are at such an early hour. I can’t manage much beyond brushing my teeth.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

