mani(c) monday + sobriety jewelz

2015/01/img_3058.jpg

2015/01/img_3059.jpg

Formula X “Wunderkind” (dark dark dark indigo) and “Pedal to the Metal” (shimmery purple)

Why do I wear so many rings?

Onyx- Antique. I had just gotten out of my first psych ward stay and I believed that, at 20 years old, I was born new or something.

Topaz- 30 days sober, the day I fully committed to quitting smoking (I had a few days under my belt, but I had tried to quit so many times before that it didn’t seem to matter)

Garnet- 2 months sober.

Amethyst- Antique. 2 months smoke-free.

Opal/pink sapphires- 3 months sober. A gift from my mother, along with a matching bracelet (I wear it daily also). I had quit drinking before, but never made it to 3 months.

Spending, I realized, was a problem. In all the bipolar memoirs I have read, spending is a problem. I was saving ~$300/month from abstaining from alcohol alone, but I was running out of fingers. I decided to wait until 6 months until my next sobriety bling purchase. It really helps to motivate me. It was the only thing that helped my smoking cravings in the beginning as well.

Call me a quack, but I believe (in believing) in the healing properties of gemstones. The first one I bought for sobriety, blue topaz, helps with addiction and clarity. And here I am.

One comment

  1. Bemused · January 26, 2015

    I really like the Opal!

    Like

Leave a Reply

