foundation free out of necessity

So I have a gig tonight
(I’m a professional trombonist
yes I’m serious
lol if you want)

and I decided not to wear foundation, because it wears off around my mouth anyway due to the mouthpiece.

Just basic eye makeup and blush. Lipstick for now, but I’ll wipe it off before I play, obviously. #femaletrombonistproblems

I feel pretty good without foundation/bb cream, even for a special event! I have hyperpigmentation still, but it is way less… “hyper.”

2015/01/img_3066.jpg

I love playing for old folks (playing at a nursing home/retirement community tonight). They always look like they appreciate jazz the most. They don’t try to be cool, like young people. Sometimes they dance! And they always come up and talk to the performers afterward. A lot of them come up to me because *gasp* I’m a lady in a big band and I play the trombone! I think it’s so nice.

2015/01/img_3067.jpg

I’m wearing a thrifted dark green conservative dress with opaque black tights and black ankle boots with a little bit of a platform heel. It’s quiet enough to play in a nursing home but still my style. I think the bandleader will be okay with it. I always stick out anyway, being the only one in a skirt.

I have a hard time finding dress pants that work with my small waist and big butt. I’m not complaining. Skirts 5ever

or jeggings

yeah I still wear them

time to go play trombone for the lovely elderly.

6 comments

  1. thebeautysanctuary · January 26, 2015

    This is such a cool post. Your skin also looks good without foundation! X

    Like

  2. melissaclaireleslie · January 26, 2015

    Your eyes look really pretty here 🙂 and I really like the look of your dress, all the best for your gig tonight with the golden oldies x

    Like

  3. lydiaa1614 · January 27, 2015

    You are beautiful! You don’t need foundation at all. I love jazz music and big band in general. I grew up with it as my father was a great fan. He saw a lot of the original bands such as Tommy Dorsey, Glenn Miller, etc. I have never played anything but guitar and piano but I have always loved the trombone, honest! Hope your evening was wonderful!

    Like

  4. womanseekingmakeup · January 27, 2015

    I love the confidence and the practicality! Sometimes life doesn’t require makeup, let’s get real. And kudos to thr female trombonist! Bassoon player over here! =)

    Like

  5. innerdragon · January 27, 2015

    Trombone = Super cool! For real!

    Like

  6. alexandriawilliams2014 · January 28, 2015

    Awww this is so sweet! And your skin is looking so great! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

