crying like an adult to get your way 101

went to the pharmacy, there was an error with one of my drugs. the one I am out of.

the last time I ran out of my atypical antipsychotic (my car was in the shop and I was embarrassed to ask for a ride to the pharmacy) I was in the psych ward for over a week. it sucked.

so I went to another counter to chat with the pharmacist, who was a very nice lady who I had never seen before. that is unusual for me, because the pharmacists at this location know me.

apparently my insurance dropped me on Jan 18th. (?) My new coverage began on Jan 1st of this new year.

So I looked at her and I said

“well I need this medication, how much will it be?”

so she waited on the computer and then her face changed, she said

“oh my God,”

“what”

“it’s $2,700”

so I start to cry

“… I only have $300
*cry*
and the last time I was out of my antipsychotic I had to go to the hospital
*cry*
and”

“it’s okay baby I’ll give you a few so you can sort it out”

“oh my God thank you so much”

*runs away*
*calls parents*

So I have one pill left for my morning dose which I haven’t taken yet (need food first).

My insurance is through my father’s employer so he is being a saintly dad and sending some paperwork to them today and hopefully I will be able to get my medication tonight for <$300. Which is still fucking ridiculous. You're welcome for being bipolar, big pharma. I will not give you 3k. I will not give you 3k.

Anyway my dad is awesome, and so is my mom. If you are reading this, m&p, sorry for stressing you out and sorry that I'm nucking futs even though you'd say "you don't have to apologize."

A note: My tears were real, shocked tears. I did not intend to manipulate with tears. They just fell out of my stoic face and they scared my poor lovely pharmacist who saw that I take about 666 medications on a daily basis. But I thought the title was fun so whatever

I was also wearing a Red Sox cap so she probably felt extra sorry for me due to last season

*cries*

9 comments

  1. kbailey374 · January 26, 2015

    lol re the Red Sox

    hope you can get your meds!!! 😦 that is ridiculous what they are charging. Sometimes if you call the pharm company they have ways to give them to you. What drug co. is it?

    Like

    • MarthasMakeup · January 26, 2015

      It’s Latuda. I applied for a card that is supposed to make it $25. Hopefully I was accepted!

      Like

  2. blahpolar · January 26, 2015

    It was tragic till the red sox, then I lolled. Sorry about the stress, I’d have freaked right out.

    Like

  3. Bemused · January 26, 2015

    OMG that is so much money 😦 I’m so sorry! How awful for you

    Like

  4. Zoe · January 26, 2015

    Well, that was my response when they told me how much Latuda cost. I’m so grateful Medicaid pays for it and I still have in spite of losing my disability. It’s crazy how the world works; people can get rich off your problems.

    Like

    • MarthasMakeup · January 26, 2015

      That’s the med! It’s Latuda! The devils! But it works really well :/

      Liked by 1 person

      • Zoe · January 26, 2015

        YES! Then I definitely feel you. By the way, I don’t know if maybe you’d qualify for their coupon / discount. The pharma who makes Latuda has a plan to help cover costs. It’s what I was going to get if they dropped my Medicaid. Might be worth looking into… because $300 is still ridiculous and adds up pretty fast!

        Like

      • MarthasMakeup · January 26, 2015

        I applied for the card for it but am looking into whether or not I have gotten it get.

        Like

  5. makeupbyingrid · January 27, 2015

    lol the title

    Like

Leave a Reply

