skin update

I’m so happy, my acne is gone! I’m feeling porcelain! Yesterday I had a follow-up with my dermatologist, and then I saw my psychiatrist right afterward, so I couldn’t wear makeup all day. And I felt confident in my own skin! I used to HATE it. I felt like a freak in my derm’s waiting room when I started seeing her three months ago. And everyone is there for skin problems, I should’ve felt at home! But I felt like a leper.

But my psychiatrist said, “Your skin looks so nice today! You look like Snow White!” (She actually said this.) I hadn’t gotten a skin compliment since pre-puberty, guys. And then I bragged a bit, as she knows all about my love for makeup and my skin hatred. I said, “And I’m not wearing any makeup, I just got out of the derm!” And she was so happy for me.

Sorry this whole post is a skin brag but it used to be SO BAD.

About a month ago, not nearly as bad as it was before I started seeing my dermatologist:

2015/01/img_2867.jpg

Today, no makeup (except my fav lipstick because I went out for coffee) and crazy morning hair:

2015/01/img_2866.jpg

I’m not pink and spotted anymore!

And my derm told me I can go off of my acne antibiotic slowly, and now we’re working on the scarring (which has already started to fade).

I’m so happy. 🙂 Will post again soon. I got a lot of funny pictures and cool pictures and neat products and looks and books to share.

xoxo

Martha

8 comments

  1. blahpolar · January 9, 2015

    Hipster (still).

    Like

  2. bettysknees · January 10, 2015

    Congrats, clear skin must be such a great feeling! What kind of routine do you have, if you don’t mind me asking?

    Like

    • MarthasMakeup · January 10, 2015

      It is! I was on doxycycline, now I’m weaning off it. I also used aczone, epiduo, and eletone (all RX). I use the PCA Blemish Bar every night and Cetaphil in the morning. I use cerave am and pm moisturizers. Now I’ve switched to the PCA Pigment Bar for scarring. Other factors that improved skin: quitting picking (I have OCD and I worked on that in therapy), juicing daily, getting sober, and quitting smoking.

      Like

  3. alexandriawilliams2014 · January 10, 2015

    This is awesome! 🙌 Congrats! I went through that process last year and it’s a wonderful feeling. You look totally gorg!!

    Like

  4. ksdays100 · January 10, 2015

    What did your derm do for you that worked? I am in the skin business and love to hear about others results!

    Like

    • MarthasMakeup · January 10, 2015

      She put me on doxycycline (which I am now weaning off of), aczone, epiduo, and eletone. She also told me to use the PCA Blemish Bar, Cetaphil, and Cerave moisturizers. I just did what she said and I addressed my OCD picking in therapy, and just a few months later, here I am, I’m free! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • ksdays100 · January 10, 2015

        Awesome! We use Epiduo a lot in my office, it works! Congrats on your skin 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

